Best AI Writing Assistants 2026: Free & Compared
Abhay Khant
Sep 3, 2026 • 13 min read
Need an editor, not a ghostwriter? Seven AI writing assistants earn a bookmark in 2026: Grammarly for all-purpose checking, QuillBot for paraphrasing, LanguageTool for open-source multilingual editing, ProWritingAid for long-form reports, Wordtune for sentence rewrites, Hemingway Editor for readability, and Ollama for models that run on your own machine. Grammarly's parent, now named Superhuman, claims 40M+ daily active users across 50K+ organizations and 200B words analyzed each day (Superhuman). grammarly.com drew an estimated 44.5 million visits over three months, per Similarweb, July 2026 data (Similarweb).
Key Takeaways
- Grammarly Free still includes 100 AI prompts per month (Grammarly Plans), but its parent rebranded to Superhuman in October 2025 and bought GPTZero in June 2026 (TechCrunch).
- QuillBot and LanguageTool are Learneo siblings, not rivals, sharing a portfolio with Course Hero and Scribbr (Learneo).
- LanguageTool has the best privacy default in the category: its policy states Learneo never trains on user inputs, no opt-out required (LanguageTool Privacy).
- Free tiers shrank across 2025-26: Jasper removed Creator, Copy.ai stopped listing any free plan, and LanguageTool paywalled its browser extension.
- Hemingway's desktop editor remains a $19.99 one-time purchase that runs offline with no account (Hemingway).
How We Compared These AI Writing Assistants
Every claim here was verified during September 2026 against vendor pages, GitHub, the Hacker News archive, and traffic estimates. Two vendors made that hard on purpose: quillbot.com returns HTTP 403 to every automated fetcher, and LanguageTool loads its Premium prices through JavaScript, so those amounts stay out of this post. No recycled roundups. No invented numbers.
Three criteria drove the ranking. First, exact free-tier limits: how many words, characters, rewrites, or prompts before the meter starts. Second, training-data posture: what each privacy policy permits a vendor to do with your drafts. Third, honest cons, because every tool here has one and the marketing pages will not say it out loud.
The 7 Best AI Writing Assistants in 2026
| Tool | Free tier | Training on your text | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grammarly | 100 AI prompts/month | Yes, to improve products | All-purpose checking |
| QuillBot | 125 words per paraphrase | Not verified (site blocks fetchers) | Paraphrasing |
| LanguageTool | 2,000 characters, 3 rephrases/day | No, by default | Privacy and multilingual |
| ProWritingAid | 500 words, 2 report runs/day | Not stated on pricing page | Novels and long-form |
| Wordtune | 10 rewrites/day | Not stated | Sentence-level polish |
| Hemingway | $19.99 desktop, no account | N/A, runs offline | Readability |
| Ollama | Local models always free | N/A, runs on your machine | Zero cloud exposure |
Grammarly: The Incumbent With a New Name
Grammarly sets the default experience, and the free tier earns it: grammar, spelling, tone detection, and 100 AI prompts per month (Grammarly Plans). TechCrunch reports US Pro at $12 per month billed annually and Business at $33 after the October 2025 rebrand (TechCrunch).
The honest con is the pivot. The grammar checker is now one spoke of a holding company, and 2026 brought a real controversy: the Expert Review feature simulates feedback from famous authors, including deceased ones, using their identities unless they opt out. Wired named Stephen King and Neil deGrasse Tyson among the living and William Zinsser and Carl Sagan among the dead (Wired), and The Verge reported the feature will keep using authors' identities unless they opt out (The Verge). A commenter on the 132-point Hacker News thread put it flatly: "If it feels like Grammarly does not respect your right to digital sovereignty, it is because it does not." (HN)
QuillBot: The Paraphrasing Default
QuillBot is the tool people mean when they say paraphraser, and the free tier is the hook: it paraphrases up to 125 words at a time (QuillBot). That cap works for a sentence or two, not a paragraph. Traffic backs that up: an estimated 31.4 million visits over three months, per Similarweb, July 2026 data (Similarweb). Check current Premium pricing on their site; we could not verify the dollar figures and won't print guesses.
Two honest cons. First, the 125-word cap makes long-form work a copy-paste chore. Second, the entire domain returns HTTP 403 to automated fetchers, which tells you how the company feels about dev tooling. And QuillBot belongs to Learneo (Learneo), the same parent as LanguageTool, so "switching" between them consolidates your drafts under one roof.
LanguageTool: Open Source and Privacy-First
LanguageTool offers the strongest developer story in the category. Its core is open source, with receipts: 15.0k GitHub stars, an LGPL-2.1 license, 82,321 commits, 25+ languages (GitHub). The free tier checks 2,000 characters per text field with 3 AI rephrases per day; Premium raises that to 150,000 characters, 20,000+ extra checks, and unlimited AI paraphrasing (LanguageTool Premium). Premium prices load via JavaScript, so we verified the structure but not the dollar amounts.
The privacy policy is why we rank it first for sensitive drafts: "Learneo does not use inputs from any LanguageTool user (Individual or Team Plan) to train its language algorithms or models. This is a default setting in LanguageTool that does not require an opt-out or any action by the user." (LanguageTool Privacy) No rival offers that by default. The honest con is recent: the browser extension was paywalled, covered in Hacker News reports from December 2025 and May 2026 (HN, HN). Those threads are small, a few points each, but the free-crowd backlash was real. An estimated 6.3 million visits over three months, per Similarweb, make it the set's volume runner-up, with Brazil as its top country, the only tool in this set whose biggest audience is not American (Similarweb).
ProWritingAid: Depth for Long-Form Writers
ProWritingAid is the analyst's choice: 25+ writing analysis reports covering readability, structure, and overused words, aimed at novelists, plus manuscript-level tools like Plot Analysis and a Virtual Beta Reader (ProWritingAid). The free tier has the tightest caps of any major tool here: 500 words at a time, 2 runs per line-editing report per day, and 10 Rephrases per day. The product now leans hard into fiction features like Story Canvas and Chapter Critiques, a deliberate split from Grammarly's enterprise direction.
The honest cons are the flip side of the depth. The interface is the most complex in the category, the free 500-word ceiling means a chapter takes many passes, and lifetime pricing is a big upfront commitment. Similarweb puts it at an estimated 1.4 million visits over three months, with the US at 60.93%, the most US-dependent audience of the set (Similarweb). If you write novels, the reports justify the learning curve; for quick polish, look elsewhere.
Wordtune: Rewrites by the Sentence
Wordtune, built by AI21 Labs, is a sentence-level rewriter with the most explicit free caps in the category: 10 rewrites and AI suggestions per day, plus 3 AI summarizations per month (Wordtune Plans). The company claims 10M+ users (Wordtune). Paid tiers are the cheapest here: Advanced at $6.99 per month or $4.89 billed annually, Unlimited at $9.99 or $6.99, with a 3-day trial and a 30% .edu discount (Wordtune Plans).
Where it falls short: 10 rewrites a day dies before the second page of an essay, and the tier names are murkier than the actual limits. It drew an estimated 410.3K visits over three months, per Similarweb, with US traffic at just 25.03% (Similarweb). Note the product now bundles an AI content detector and a humanizer, which sits oddly on an editing tool.
Hemingway Editor: Readability Without a Subscription
Hemingway is the readability purist: paste text, get grade-level scoring, and see which sentences are too dense. The Classic desktop app costs $19.99 one time, includes no AI features, and runs offline with no account (Hemingway Desktop). The newer Plus tier adds AI rewrites, with a 2-week free trial and no credit card (Hemingway).
Where it falls short: Classic has no AI and no cloud sync, the readability score pushes toward blunter prose than some writing needs, and we are not printing Plus prices because we could not verify them. The site drew an estimated 643.3K visits over three months, per Similarweb (Similarweb).
Ollama and Open Models: The Fully Local Option
Ollama is the local answer to every privacy question on this page. It runs open-weight models on your hardware, and the pitch is one line: "Nothing you run locally ever leaves your machine." (Ollama) The project claims 9M+ developers, and ollama.com pulled an estimated 9.9 million visits over three months, per Similarweb, more than Jasper, Wordtune, Copy.ai, Rytr, and Hemingway combined (Similarweb). Local models are always free.
The March 2026 thread on Ollama adding MLX support on Apple Silicon drew 648 points (HN), and an April 2026 thread arguing the local LLM ecosystem does not need Ollama drew the same 648 (HN). The honest cons: setup takes an afternoon, and nothing in the stack checks your grammar. The natural pairing is Ollama for drafting, LanguageTool's self-hostable core for checking, and Hemingway's $19.99 desktop as the editor. For code rather than prose, see our best AI coding assistants comparison.
Who Owns What: The Consolidation Nobody's Listicles Mention
The independent tools in most 2026 roundups are actually two conglomerates. Grammarly acquired the Superhuman email client in July 2025, last valued at $825M (TechCrunch), then renamed the parent company itself to Superhuman in October 2025 (TechCrunch). In June 2026 it bought GPTZero, the AI detector with 19M registered users and $30M ARR, reasoning that "two AI detectors are better than one" (TechCrunch). An 188-point Hacker News thread argued Grammarly has an existential crisis because free frontier models can replace it (HN).
The other half of the market is one company too. Learneo owns QuillBot and LanguageTool alongside Course Hero, Scribbr, CliffsNotes, LitCharts, Symbolab, and Bartleby (Learneo). The two tools every listicle positions as rivals are siblings, and your drafts land with the same parent either way. Wordtune sits under AI21 Labs. When a roundup calls these tools independent competitors in 2026, that is the tell nobody checked.
The Great Paywalling of 2025-26
Free tiers shrank inside 18 months. Jasper killed Creator; entry is now Pro at $69 per seat per month, or $59 annually with a 12-month commitment (Jasper Pricing). Copy.ai no longer lists any free plan; Chat starts at $29 per month ($288 per year), and the next tier jumps to $1,000 (Copy.ai Pricing). Rytr restructured to a 10,000-character free month with Unlimited at $7.50 and Premium at $24.16 (Rytr Pricing). LanguageTool paywalled its browser extension. What the free tiers include, verified from vendor pages in September 2026:
| Tool | Free tier limit | What it means in practice |
|---|---|---|
| Rytr | 10,000 characters/month (Rytr Pricing) | Roughly one short blog post |
| Jasper | No Creator plan; 7-day Pro trial (Jasper Pricing) | $69/seat entry, enterprise now |
| Copy.ai | No free plan listed (Copy.ai Pricing) | Chat starts at $29/month |
| Sudowrite | Trial without credit card (Sudowrite Pricing) | $10/month entry for fiction |
The seven picks above carry their exact caps in the at-a-glance table. These four sit outside the main list because each lost its free entry point or never aimed one at general writing.
Cloud inference costs money, and free tiers were always loss leaders. The pattern still matters: 2023-era pricing advice is now wrong, and any roundup repeating it has not checked. Sudowrite's fiction tiers ($10, $22, and $44 per month, up to 2M credits on Max) sit outside this trend, with a vendor promise that "We will never hold your writing hostage" (Sudowrite Pricing). Jasper is now an enterprise platform; its estimated 655.3K visits over three months, per Similarweb, reflect that (Similarweb).
Training Data and False Positives: What You Sign Up For
What a vendor may do with your drafts differs sharply. Grammarly's policy says it may "use your writing to improve our products," while never selling content or letting third parties train on it (Grammarly Privacy). LanguageTool's carve-out, quoted above, needs no action. Sudowrite, which handles unpublished novels, still shows a privacy policy dated October 2020 with no AI-training disclosure at all (Sudowrite Privacy). If your drafts are sensitive, that difference is the whole purchase decision.
The second risk is detection, because the company that checks your grammar now owns a leading AI detector. GPTZero offers free scans up to 10,000 characters and advertises 99% accuracy, while its own FAQ concedes "No AI detector is 100% accurate." (GPTZero) In a Hacker News test of 31 detection and humanization tools, one author reported losing a client over an 87%-AI false flag on manually edited content (HN); a 2023 thread on detector false positives called the field "rife with egregious false positives," one commenter comparing detectors to phrenology (HN).
That is why we frame these as assistants rather than generators. The AI-slop backlash is loud: the May 2026 thread "AI slop is killing online communities" drew 834 points (HN), and Rob Pike's December 2025 GenAI critique drew 1,550 points (HN). A tone-flattening demo thread found structured AI rewrites "consistently duller and less expressive" (HN); one commenter's view matches ours: "To me, AI is an editor, a tool I use to help improve my writing." Keep the judgment yours.
Which AI Writing Assistant Should You Pick?
One line per use case, and the decision collapses:
- Students and everyday writing: Grammarly Free, 100 prompts a month covers most homework.
- Paraphrasing and rewording: QuillBot, if 125 words covers your task.
- Privacy-sensitive drafts: LanguageTool, whose no-training default needs no opt-out.
- Novels and long-form: ProWritingAid, once you accept the learning curve.
- Quick sentence polish on a budget: Wordtune, cheapest paid tiers in the category.
- Offline and one-time purchase: Hemingway desktop at $19.99, forever.
- Zero cloud exposure: Ollama plus LanguageTool's open-source core.
The sibling question is browsing versus prompting: a thesaurus hands you twenty candidates and keeps you the writer, as we argued in our best online thesaurus tools comparison. When a rewrite looks suspiciously close to your original, paste both into the diff checker to see exactly what changed.
Related Tools & Further Reading
- Analyze the draft you just rewrote: the word counter adds readability and keyword density to the count, in your browser.
- Compress before you polish: the text summarizer trims long drafts so fewer words carry more weight.
- Fix titles fast: the case converter repairs capitalization pasted in the wrong case.
- Describe images for the AI-assisted workflow: the AI image alt text generator.
- Build matching patterns: the regex generator for text processing after the writing is done.
- Read next: the best online word counter tools, the text writing tools guide, and how many words should an essay be.
- Word lists and language trivia: how many words are in the English language.
- Take notes without an account: the best online notepad comparison.
- The Local LLM Writing Stack in 2026: $19.99, $0 a Month